2 Whitsundays pilotage area

2.1 Pilotage area

This document applies to the designated pilotage area for the region as described in Schedule 2 of the *Transport Operations (Marine Safety) Regulation 2016* as the area of:

- (a) waters bounded by an imaginary line drawn— starting at the high water mark at the northern tip of George Point on the mainland:
 - then to latitude 20°01.19' south, longitude 148°52.84' east
 - then to latitude 20°02.94' south, longitude 148°58.63' east
 - then to the high-water mark at the north-eastern tip of Deloraine Island
 - then along the high-water mark of the eastern shoreline of Deloraine Island to its south-eastern tip
 - then to the high-water mark at the northern tip of Harold Island
 - then along the high-water mark of the eastern shoreline of Harold Island to its southern tip
 - then to the high-water mark at the northern tip of Jesuit Point on Maher Island
 - then along the high-water mark of the western shoreline of Maher Island to its southern tip
 - then to the high-water mark at the northern tip of Shaw Island
 - then along the high-water mark of the western shoreline of Shaw Island to its south-western tip
 - then to the southern tip of Cape Conway on the mainland
 - then by the high-water mark, initially in a general north-westerly direction, to the starting point; and
- (b) the navigable waters of rivers and creeks flowing, directly or indirectly, into the waters in paragraph (a) (Whitsunday Pilotage area)

The Whitsunday pilotage area described above defines the area of jurisdictional control for navigation purposes of MSQ, with the local authority being the Mackay Regional Harbour Master.

2.2 Compulsory pilotage area

The 'compulsory pilotage area' means all regulated ships must have a pilot on board when travelling through the Inner Route, Hydrographer's Passage and the Whitsundays. This is defined under <u>Regulation 118</u>, Part 5 of the Great Barrier Reef Marine Park Regulations <u>1983</u>.

The compulsory pilotage area covering areas of the Whitsunday Passage, the Whitsunday and the Lindeman Island groups is defined on AUS charts 824, 825 and 821.

This pilotage area is bounded by a line that begins at the northernmost point of Cape Gloucester at low water, at or about 20° 03·94'S, 148° 27·51'E, and continues progressively:

(a) On geodesic lines to the following points:

1.	19° 58 · 02'S	148º 18·60' E
2.	19º 57·83'S	148º 18∙53' E
3.	19º 58·00'S	148º 21·68' E
4.	19º 58·28'S	148º27·05' E
5.	19º 58·37'S	148º 27·40' E
6.	19º 59·28'S	148º 33∙62' E
7.	20º 00·82'S	148º 37·48' E
8.	20º 02·17'S	148º 53·07' E
9.	20º 03·58'S	148º 57∙92' E
10.	20º 14·42'S	149º 10·47' E
11.	20º 15·20'S	149º 11·15' E
12.	20º 28·93'S	149º 08·03' E
13.	20° 31 20'S	149º 09·07' E
14.	20° 34 28'S	149º 10∙50' E
15.	20º 33·91'S	149º 07·06' E
16.	20º 39·73'S	148º 45·82' E
	and	

- (b) West along the parallel 20° 39·73'S to the coastline of the mainland at low water, near Midge Point; and
- (c) Generally northerly, easterly, south-easterly and north-westerly along the coastline of the mainland at low water to the point where the boundary began.

2.3 Applicable vessels

The following vessels that intend to transit between the Whitsunday's region and the mainland, within the GBRMPA designated compulsory pilotage area are required to carry an AMSA licensed pilot:

- all vessels of 70 metres and over in length
- all loaded oil tankers, chemical carriers liquefied gas carriers and ships that come within the INF code of any length

A preferred route is shown on charts AUS 824 and 825 to seaward of the compulsory pilotage area. (Also refer section 3.2 for towed vessels in the compulsory area)

Pilotage services for cruise ships are provided by Auriga Pilots.

Bookings should be made directly with the service provider giving approximately five days notice.